Titus 3:1-8

Do you ever read something and it just is so clear that it is God’s direction for the situation you’re in in that moment?

This passage is God’s direction for me in this upcoming season. 

I am about to restart the youth ministry of my church. I am so excited for the opportunity to be with my kids again. My kids are rough and rowdy but they are precious. They are worth every spare moment of my time. I love my kids. Being with them fulfills the Holy calling I feel on my life – to work the teenagers no one wants. God wants them and I want them.

In my excitement, my vision go the them has either been lost or tainted but outside circumstances. 

I met with an amazing mentor today and I’m so grateful for him. My heart overflows at this opportunity to mentor my kids and be mentored by someone who gets the situation my church is in. God cares about his people and it is evident in the little things no one sees or recognizes. 

Then I read the passage. It is full of instruction and the reasons why to give those instructions and why to receive them! 

 “Remind them to be submissive, to be obedient, ready for every good work, etc. The goodness and lovingkindness of God out savior appeared, he saved us…by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit whom He poured out on us richly…be careful forgive themselves to good works”

This is for me. The outline of how I am to approach this ministry. The way to be effective in communicating to my kids. It will change with someone else and these kids. It will change when I am with some other church’s kids. 

But, this, today, this was for me. I’m broken that God has shone the light on His path with His word for my sake. For my kids’ sake. For His sake! Praise you Lord for your Word and for your spirit which opens our eyes to see the glories of your goodness and your plan.

Leave a Reply

