Powerful Words

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue. And those who love will eat its fruit.”

Proverbs 18:21

Proverbs 10 is also about what we say with our words, our mouths.

As someone who struggles with what I speak out about myself, I’m realizing that it is a problem; much more than I truly realized.

Speaking out your problems, your critiques of yourself, your frustrations keep those in focus. It keeps those things which you view as negatives in the forefront of your mind and heart. When they are the forefront, they receive your attention. When they receive your attention, it means that your attention is not on the Lord.

Be not concerned with the problems of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

BUT when you speak out (even when you do not feel it, which is me pretty much all the time!) the promises of God, when you speak out God’s word, when you speak out thanks and love for Him, for the all the things we did not deserve, for the punishment we DID deserve and DID NOT receive, for the peace He gives with no limitation, for the mercy that is new every morning, and for the grace that chases us down in the street and overtakes us – something changes.

Your view, your focus, your attention shifts; shifts from the negative and brings into alignment with God and His word.

When this shift takes place, you zoom out away from your issues (in their many facets and faces) and instead you zoom in on God. When God is in your focus, your problems are not. Novel concept I know.

I know all of this, but practicing or walking it out – I fail at miserably. HOWEVER God gently told me this morning, the more time I waste speaking those things out, the longer promises will be in wait.

I do not want to wait any longer for those promises He has for me. That is incentive enough for me – I do not know about you but I wanted to share with you that God wants to bring His promises to pass in your life. He will do this, but you need to do your part.

Speak out the promises. Speak out the Word. Speak out thanks.

He is worthy and will bring to pass that which He has promised.

One thought on “Powerful Words

Leave a Reply

