Starting Revival

Revival
– An improvement in the condition or strength of something
– An instance of something becoming popular, active, or important AGAIN
– A new production of an old play or similar work
– A reawakening of religious fervor, especially by means of a series of evangelical meetings
– A restoration to bodily or mental vigor, to life or consciousness, or to sporting success.
So we aren’t dealing with the just the definition of revival as we define it – when God shows His power in a mighty way through many meetings. But all of these definitions has something that God wants us to live in, constantly.

*Don’t think such small picture with God. He is constantly trying to get us to see the bigger picture* (there’s a little extra nugget for you)
So, living in revival…what does that mean? What does it look like? What happens to you? How do I do that? Where do I even start?
I’m going to address the last question – where do I even start?
When we hear revival, we all get this image of us being slain in the Spirit, with a blanket covering us so we don’t embarrass ourselves, lots of tears, crying, screaming, face planted into the carpet to see how many fibers are in your view – just absolute holy bedlam. Saturated in His presence – there is nothing like it.
You may be thinking…I can’t live in that. I have things to do that require not crying and not screaming.
Well you’re right in that you have things that you need to do that don’t need that. BUT that doesn’t mean we can’t still live SATURATED in his presence. Where when you walk by and His presence is so thick like a strong perfume or cologne.
Whenever I smell a wonderful man scent, I turn into a hound dog. I take deep breaths and whip my head around trying to figure out the source…then I keep taking in deep breaths. Well when we have been living in revival, being saturated in His presence people will tell. They may not take deep breaths but they will want to be around you. Breathing in God’s scent.
But this revival is not just that. You can function with it. This revival is one that happens all day.
So again, how do you even start? A choice. To either keep living the way you are or to improve it. No matter how good your life is now, it can always be improved. By being more saturated with God’s presence. You could spend all day in His presence and still want to do it the next day. Which is like unheard of. We do something twice, maybe three times in a row and we’re just done with it. Not with God.
This past week I had the same meal three times in a row. Rachel was going to make me lunch and make the same thing and I said “NO! I’ve had it three times in the past two days, something else!” But that is not so with God. I could spend all day just sitting in His presence and still want and need more.
So you can always improve your amount of time spent with God.
Ok, we got that. What’s the next step? You have to examine your heart more deeply than ever. This past week I came home from work and I didn’t feel like doing anything. It was like 7:00 and I was ready to crawl into bed, but I decided that I needed to spend some time with the Lord but in order to get my physical being in tune with my spiritual being I decided to shower just to refresh or revive my body. As I’m getting all my materials for time with God ready, I think “isn’t it funny how just one act of cleansing the body can you make you ready for the task ahead of you?” And Bam! God says “it’s the same with me. Cleanse your heart to come with me” I felt so dumb, but I sought after for more than just that. That was like bait – are you gonna ask me what I mean or just take it?
Well call me a sucker, I took the bait and found a lovely truth about self-examination. When we confess, repent, and ask for forgiveness from any sin we have done that day, hour, minute it puts us in a better position. We have shortened the distance between God and us that we put there in the first place. It also causes us to offer better and more genuine worship. We realize that because of his mercy we have been forgiven and when we are forgiven much, we love much. We give Him all the praise He is worthy of.
This is not being sin conscious, this is being holy conscious. We are NOT holy in our own strength. HE IS HOLY! And we will be holy as HE is holy (1 Peter 1:14-16; Leviticus 11:44-45, 19:2) AND He, God, wants us to search our hearts with His wisdom and weed out the bad stuff (Psalm 139:23)
So after our choice to improve our time with God, we begin with cleansing our spirits by God’s love, for loving on God, that He has given us the ability to use to praise Him. Psalms 80:18-19 Once we begin to praise Him, choose not to turn away from Him but TO Him, He will revive us and we will begin to call on Him even more.
Those are the first two steps to make even beyond what you are already doing. This will then cause your life, your communion with God, and just experiencing His presence to be improved.
The condition of your life and, more importantly, your relationship with God will be improved and the strength of your prayers, your praise, your power, and your effect on Satan will be strengthened through the Lord and the time you spend with Him. Remember, we do none of this on/in our own strength. We will be holy as He is holy and that only comes from increased time with Him.
I know I’m talking to seasoned saints, but I’m encouraging you that this time you have is crucial to spend even more time than you already are in prayer and His presence. Grow more intimate with God than you ever have before.
I can’t tell you exactly how your life will be improved or strengthened. All I know is that things you used to be bothered by, won’t bother you anymore. Your thinking will change to match God’s thinking, it will be backwards from what we humans wants to think naturally.
You will find yourself just wanting or sing or play or speak or write our prayers to Him at random times. You won’t need music, being alone, a Bible in front of you – His Spirit that dwells within you will just swell up and explode from you. At work, I used to just start humming a praise song when other people were around. Now I’m by myself a lot more, so I just sing out. You pray in tongues more, you hear from the Lord more. Your level of communication will be something greater than it has been before. His word says this! John 14:12
It is the time of greater things! If we want them to come here and in our own lives, we need to start gathering the conditions in our lives so that when the time is right for God to make His revival known we are ready to participate.
This week you have homework. I won’t check it but the Holy Spirit will. Just one night this week, when you would normally watch TV, read a book (other than the Bible), or if you’re tired go to bed early, take that time and sit before the Lord. Cleanse yourself before Him so you can commune with Him. Praise Him, talk to Him. Don’t just pray at Him, talk to Him.

WARNING: This could take several hours but believe me it is worth it!

So that is your homework. One day/night take what you would normally do other than spend time with the Lord and do just that. Make sure that you have done everything that needed to be done that day, so your mind isn’t distracted and focus in on the Lord. Ask the Lord to focus your mind, and just bless Him.

Leave a Reply

