Why’d you wake me?

Now that we are awake from whatever stage we were at, we have got some stuff to do. We already called on the Lord for Him to awaken us from death and to resurrect the joy in our lives and we’ve chosen to not continue to hit the snooze on God’s alarm clock. What next?
I think before we can look at the outside world and awaken them, we have to finish getting up.
Imagine, you’ve just woken up from a looooong and restful night and that horrid alarm clock goes off (purely human analogy – not saying God’s alarm clock is horrid, but it is definitely jarring). So you stumble out of bed, with your bed head, eye boogers still clinging to your eyes, you can’t even pick your feet up and you try and go wake someone else up.
How well is that gonna work? There are many times where I turn the alarm off and try to roll over to get out of bed and start to get sleepy all over again. I do manage to get out of bed and I go to shadow, my dog, who is just as sleepy as I am and I don’t even have enough energy to bend down and pet him – I use my foot. Ok so imagine if I had to go wake up my kids or my husband who won’t get up for nothing, which I don’t currently. It isn’t going to happen.
So all of that to say, God has awakened US first so that we may then go out and spread the alarm clock – you can’t wake them up, only God can wake them, but you can certainly carry around that alarm clock and God only knows who it will awaken. We’re the bell ringers – like Paul Revere shouting out the alarm to wake up the minute men and Colonial Soldiers. Matthew 25:16-19
But like Paul having to be ready to yell and ride as soon as the message reached him, we also have to be ready to yell and to call out and to ride to those who so desperately need to be awakened. And we can’t necessarily do that when we look like zombies.
To get ourselves ready for bell ringer duty, we need to do as Jesus told Lazarus. John 11:43-44 “Now when He had said these things, He cried with a loud voice, “Lazarus, come forth!” And he who had died came out bound hand and foot with grave clothes, and his face was wrapped with a cloth. Jesus said to them, “Loose him, and let him go.””
Come out from your hiding place, where it is dark, and ‘secret’ to the light where God’s breath of life can fill your lungs and he can show you the ‘secret’ parts aren’t so secret. And those ‘secret’ places are the things that binding your hands and your feet and shrouding your mind and your senses. When you wake up, stumble out, He will help you take off the things that bind you. But you have to trust Him that when He takes those away that we will still stay together when they’re gone. 1 John 1:5-10
That’s what we think those things that are binding us are – pieces of tape to keep us together when all we need is God to keep us together. You can label them – TV, food, spouse/companion, family, friends, internet, books, music, pets, or housework. These aren’t bad things in and of themselves, but what is bad is when we think these things keep us together. “Oh these are things I have to do!” or “This is my way of relaxing!” or “sometimes I just wanna have something is mine, no one else’s including God” or “without [insert your choice], I wouldn’t make it” Luke 12:29 “and do not seek what you should eat or what you should drink, nor have an anxious mind” Matthew 6:31-34 “Do not worry saying…for you heavenly father knows that you need all these things. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” Leviticus 19:4 “Do not turn to idols, for make for yourselves molded gods: I am the Lord your God.”
And don’t think I don’t know you do it cause I’ve done all those things and said all those excuses. You know what happened though? God removed just about every desire to participate in those things beyond necessity. I don’t have a companion where I live, my family is throughout Brevard County and my friends are all over the United States. Internet I’ve never been addicted to outside of research, books I no longer read with the same voraciousness I once had, music has turned to mostly Christian and increasingly worship music, housework is what is needed so I don’t live like a pig, and my dog He recently showed me to rely on God instead of my dog for a soul to be with.
So you see when we are awakened God must then help us remove the things we have bound ourselves with. Jesus showed us that we what we bind on earth will be bound in heaven and what we loose on earth will be loosed in heaven Matthew 16:19; Matthew 18:18
God doesn’t want you bound! So if we have bound ourselves on earth to things or activities then we are bound in heaven and cannot be as effective as if we were loosed. TO be loosed in heaven then we FIRST have to be loosed on earth! Ask God to help you loosen yourself here on earth to then be loosened in heaven

Leave a Reply

