Get pumped!

Christianity is not something to dread. We aren’t dead or boring, well we’re not meant to be.

I get my long-windedness from my father and I shall use His phrase “Do you mind if I preach a little?” so, do you mind?

If you meet me in person and get me talking you’ll notice that I get excited and animated about a lot! Especially my God. This is a gift He recently gave me in an immeasurable amount. I smile, laugh, wave my hands and arms around – I’m just excited about Jesus!

And the only reason I’m able to speak on this with such passion is because I have been without joy or excitement for the Lord. I’m being very honest with (as honest as a website will allow) you regarding this. I did what I was supposed to do but I did it without joy or giving God praise for anything.

But praise the Lord, He gave me the joy of the Lord and it is my strength! Just as is it can be yours, if you only ask.

 

To arouse or to excite
Now what if we cannot get excited for our God? We love God, we’ve married for awhile but time and the world’s cares have caused the romance to die out. We’ve become so used to just the same old same old that we don’t even know what it means to be excited anymore.
God wants to wake up our excitement, not just for the moment – for all eternity, starting now.
Psalm 35:27-28 “Let them shout for joy and be glad, who favor my righteous cause; and let them say continually, “Let the Lord be magnified, who has pleasure in the prosperity of His servant. My tongue will speak of your righteousness and of your praises all day long.”
Psalm 89:15-16 “Blessed are the people who know the joyful sound! They walk, O Lord in the light of your countenance. They rejoice in your name all day long, they exult in your righteousness.”
Isaiah 32:9-20 He is calling us to rise again because we have become complacent. He names women specifically because they weren’t working outside the home. They were housewives – not to be frowned upon – but after awhile, you just get tired of the same old same old. He calls us out on the fact that we felt secure in our position even though we will soon tremble. But he is calling us to rise so that we can do the work that we have neglected in our complacency so that we will ‘live in peaceful dwelling place, in secure homes, in undisturbed places of rest” (v.18) and we will realize “how blessed we will be, sowing your seed by every stream, and letting our cattle and donkeys range free” (v.20)
Remember who our God is. He is the Lover of our soul and he has done everything for us. Let us not become complacent about being in love with God any longer.
The only thing I can tell you on how to reignite your faith, your love for God is to ask Him to wake you from your complacency.
Psalm 37:4 says if we delight ourselves in the Lord that he will give us the desire of our heart. If you really mean it in your heart for the joy to be reignited, for your relationship to be revived, just ask him. He will grant this to you. Praise Him even when you don’t feel like it.

Leave a Reply

