Hope

As I look out my window and see nothing but a gray dismal sky and I as reflect on my own situation and circumstances – the two are very similar. When there seems to be no light anywhere to be found, when all it seems to be doing is raining, and when the winds threaten to blow you down, I want to encourage you (and myself) that there is light coming. A light so bright it will cause us to shield our eyes from its beauty, much like the Israelites had to do when Moses came down from the mountain after having met with God face-to-face. (Exodus: 34:29-35)

As I was studying last week for my lesson, I received a vision of a girl being chased up Calvary’s hill by the devil. He had a spear and he was coming up close behind her. But she got to Christ’s cross and fell at the base. She pulled herself into a ball and clung to the cross’ base. Se was clinging to the cross for her protection and the devil was inches from her face but he couldn’t touch her!! If this is how you feel – I’ll let you in on a secret (that’s I feel right now) – then again I am encouraging you (and myself) to cling to the cross. Especially when you don’t feel like it! Let me tell you, I don’t feel like doing anything let alone sink into his Word or praise him or pray for anything – do it anyway.

He is the only one who can bring that hope of light again. And not just the hope of it, He is Light. When you find him, you have found the light that outshines the darkness of your heart. You have found the light and peace that passes all understanding.

Leave a Reply

